The Niagara Escarpment Commission
Home > Protecting the Escarpment > The Niagara Escarpment Commission
Print E-mail

The Niagara Escarpment Commission was established in 1973 as a provincial agency consisting of 17 persons appointed by the Ontario Cabinet. As the main agency with responsibility for the implementation of the Niagara Escarpment Plan, the NEC has four main functions:

  1. administering the NEP’s development control program (which consists of, for the most part, issuing or refusing to issue development permits),
  2. processing applications for amendments to the Niagara Escarpment Plan (with the final decision made by the Ontario Cabinet),
  3. commenting on proposed land uses or projects both inside and outside the Plan Area which may affect the Niagara Escarpment, and
  4. working with other government agencies such as the Ministry of Natural Resources or the Ontario Heritage Foundation on the acquisition and management of lands within the Niagara Escarpment parks and open space system

The Niagara Escarpment Planning and Development Act requires that eight of the seventeen NEC members be elected representatives or employees from municipalities within the Plan Area. Nine members are to be citizens representing the public at large, one of whom is appointed as Chair. All NEC members serve in a part-time capacity. The NEC employs a full-time staff that includes land use planners, a cartographer, a landscape architect, public affairs/educational staff and administrative staff.

The NEC meets once a month, usually at their office in Georgetown. Meetings of the NEC are open to the public. You may obtain a copy of NEC meeting agendas by e-mailing the NEC office at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by calling their office at (905) 877-5191. If you have an issue or concern, please contact the NEC member representing your region.